Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Do You Know What Are The Nine Forms Of Godddess Durga And The Special Prasad Offered To Them..??

Do You Know What Are The Nine Forms Of Godddess Durga And The Special Prasad Offered To Them..!!-naadle
Share This:

One the most prominent festivals of Hindus,Navratri is a celebration of the victory of good over evil. The festival spans over nine days with each day dedicated to a different avatar of Goddess Durga. Navaratri celebrations were off to a big start in the undivided Dakshina Kannada district, even as streets here were illuminated with lights to mark Dasara festivities. Prominent among the temples celebrating the festivities has been the Kudroli Gokarnanatheshwara Temple, which is also the venue for Mangalore Dasara.Navaratri celebrations also began at Kateel Sri Durgaparameshwari temple, Mangaladevi temple, Polali Rajarajeshwari Temple and Bhagavathi Temple in Kudroli, Bappanadu Sri Durgaparameshwari temple. As per mythology, 9 days of Navratri are dedicated to the different Goddess and each Goddess is related to different color and wearing that specific color on that particular day is considered sacred and also brings good luck.

Upcoming and Ongoing events

View More Events

Want to Promote your Event, contact Naadle at 7090787344 or Email us at info@naadle.com


Hindus worship Goddess Shailputri on first day. She holds a Trishul in one hand and a lotus in the other and rides a bull called Nandi. The festival begins with the bright and vibrant Orange. Devotees offer pure ghee on the foot of Goddess Shailputri. It is believed that by offering pure ghee the devotees are blessed with a life free of diseases and illness.

DAY 2 

Hindus worship Goddess Brahmacharini on this day. The goddess walks bare feet with a rudraksh mala in one hand and a sacred Kamandalu in the other. Goddess Brahmacharini is offered sugar for the longevity of the family members. White is the colour for Day 2, which is a symbol of peace and purity.


Hindus worship Goddess Chandraghanta on this day. She is a fierce 10-armed goddess with a crescent moon on her forehead, which gives her the name Chandraghanta. She rides on a tiger to destroy all evil and wicked. The ferocious goddess is pleased with Kheer. She is known to drive away all pains. People wear red colour on the third day of Navratri. It signifies beauty and fearlessness. 

DAY 4 

Hindus worship Goddess Kushmanda on this day. he name Kushmanda is derived from three words – ‘Ku’ (little), ‘Ushma’ (warmth or energy) and ‘Amnda’ (egg), which means the creator of the universe. Devotees offer Malpua to Maa Kushmanda to improve their intellect and decision-making ability.The colour of the fourth day of Navratri is royal blue. This colour is considered good for health and wealth.

DAY 5 

Hindus worship Goddess Skandamata on Day 5. Skandmata is a four-armed deity, who carries a lotus in two of her arms with a sacred Kamandalu and a bell in the other two. She also carries a little Kartikay on her lap and because of this Kartikay is also known as Skanda. She is seated on a lotus.
Bananas is the favourite fruit of Goddess Skandmata. People wear the colour yellow on the fifth day of the festival. The colour stands for happiness and brightness


Hindus worship Goddess Katyayani on Day 6. She has four arms and carrying a sword. She is the daughter of Sage Katyayan and rides on a lion.
Devotees offer Honey as prasad to Devi Katyayani. Green colour of the sixth day signifies new beginnings and growth.


Hindus worship Goddess Kalaratri on Day 7 and this day is called the Saptami. As per legends she sacrificed her skin colour and embraced a dark complexion to kill demons. She is a four-armed deity who rides a donkey, carries a sword, a trident, and a noose. She has a third eye on her forehead that is believed to contain the entire universe. Offer Jaggery as prasad to Devi Kaalratr The colour of the seventh day is grey, a colour which stands for the strength of transforming. 

DAY 8 

People worship Goddess Mahagauri on this day.  She is a four-armed deity who rides on a bull or a white elephant. She carries a Trishul and a damru in her hands. Goddess Mahagauri is offered coconut by devotees. The colour of the day, purple, signifies the power of intellect and peace. 

DAY 9 

This day is called Navami and is the last day of the Navratri festival. Rituals are performed on this day and Goddess Siddhidhatri is worshiped.  She is projected as a four-armed deity sitting on a lotus, holding a mace, discus and a book and lotus in her hands. This form of Goddess Durga signifies perfection. Sesame Seeds are offered to Devi SiddhidatriThe colour peacock green is believed to fulfill the desires of devotees.



Want to Add your Offers, contact Naadle at 7090787344 or Email us at info@naadle.com